• Georgia Chief Science Officers

Welcome to the Georgia Chief Science Officers initiative, developing a cadre of diverse STEM student leaders in middle and high schools across the state. The program launched in 2018 with 22 students from three metro Atlanta school districts, with plans to expand to 100 students across the state in three years. Georgia Chief Science Officers is a program of Science ATL, engineers of Atlanta Science Festival.

2019-2020 Participating Schools

  • Amana Academy (Fulton)
  • Babb Middle School (Clayton)
  • Banneker High School (Fulton)
  • Booker T. Washington High School (Atlanta)
  • Brown Middle School (Atlanta)
  • Clarkston High School (Dekalb)
  • Coretta Scott King Young Women’s Leadership Academy (Atlanta)
  • Crawford Long Middle School (Atlanta)
  • Forest Park High School (Clayton)
  • Frederick Douglass High School (Atlanta)
  • Hollis Innovation Academy (Atlanta)
  • John Lewis Invictus Academy (Atlanta)
  • Johns Creek High School (Fulton)
  • King Middle School (Atlanta)
  • KIPP WAYS (Atlanta)
  • Paulding County High School (Paulding)
  • Price Middle School (Atlanta)
  • Sandy Springs Charter Middle School (Fulton)
  • South Atlanta High School (Atlanta)
  • South Cobb High School (Cobb)
  • South Paulding High School (Paulding)
  • Tucker High School (Dekalb)
  • Tucker Middle School (Dekalb)
  • Webb Bridge Middle School (Fulton)
  • Wheeler High School (Cobb)

Now Recruiting Leadership Coaches!

We are looking for STEM professionals from industry and academia to serve as Leadership Coaches to middle and high school students in the Chief Science Officers program.

Get an overview of the expected role and commitment in our 1-page recruitment flyer, and please share with your colleagues.

For a more in-depth overview of the Coaching program, see our Leadership Coach Manual.

If you are ready to help empower young leaders to make a difference at their schools and in their communities, please complete the application to get started.

About Georgia Chief Science Officers

Georgia Chief Science Officers (CSO) is a STEM leadership development program for middle and high school students across the state, enhancing students’ leadership, communication, and advocacy skills. Students are elected to become their school’s CSOs and are empowered to lead STEM/STEAM initiatives at their schools and in their communities. CSOs meet with legislators, school board members, and policymakers to lend their voices to conversations about STEM education and workforce development in our state. CSOs build relationships with STEM industry mentors and connect with companies and careers in their region.

The program is part of the International CSO consortium, launched in 2015 in Arizona. Georgia CSOs are joining more than 800 other CSOs in Arizona, Oregon, Michigan, New York, Delaware, Florida, Mexico, Kuwait, Kenya, and Colombia.

In its inaugural year, the 2018-2019 Georgia CSO program engaged 22 students from three school districts: Atlanta, DeKalb, and Fulton. In 2019-2020, we have added additional schools including some in Clayton, Cobb, and Paulding counties, for a total of 48 students. Check out our recent News Release (August 13, 2019): Science ATL welcomes a new class of Chief Science Officers.

Georgia Chief Science Officers is a program of Science ATL, engineers of Atlanta Science Festival, and sponsored by The Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation, NCR Foundation, UCB, United Way of Greater Atlanta, UPS, International Paper, Georgia Tech Research Institute, and Delta Community. We are proud to partner with leaders at TAG-Ed, Georgia State University, SEM Link, Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education, SMASH Morehouse, and Metro Atlanta Chamber to ensure the program’s success.

For more information contact [email protected].

Program Sponsors

Steering Committee

Special thanks to these fine folks for helping to lead the program.

  • Tim Cairl, Metro Atlanta Chamber
  • John Childs, Mental Fitness
  • Robert Gaines, Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education
  • Brian Garrett, PhD, SMASH Morehouse
  • Natalie King, PhD, Georgia State University
  • Caitlin Kokenes, Knarr
  • Mike Lalle, UPS
  • Charaun Little, Delta Community Credit Union
  • Leigh McCook, Georgia Tech Research Institute
  • Errika Moore, Technology Association of Georgia – Education Collaborative (TAG-Ed)
  • Reina Short, Delta Community Credit Union
  • Tokiwa Smith, SEM Link
  • Jordan Rose, Science ATL

Founded by: Emory University Georgia Institute of Technology Metro Atlanta Chamber

® 2020 Science ATL