Science Communication Workshops & Fellowships - Science ATL

Science ATL Communication Fellowship

The Science ATL Communication Fellowship, sponsored by Emory University, is designed to help close the communication gap between scientists and the public. This 7-month professional development experience is open to Atlanta-area graduate students and post-docs from any institute of higher education. From August to February, the cohort of Fellows will meet as a group with Science ATL staff for a monthly 2.5 hour session in which they will explore topics in science communication. Topics will include using narrative techniques in science communication, directing language for different audiences, and developing demonstrations and public programs related to the fellow’s field of study.

As participants in this program, Fellows will:

  • Join other trainees from different STEM fields to learn new communication strategies and practice using them in a neutral and non-threatening environment
  • Learn different techniques for effective communication with a range of audiences
  • Gain practical skills in science communication

The fellows will complete one public engagement activity which will be developed in consultation with a Science ATL mentor and may include: a talk at Atlanta Science Tavern or with the Science for Georgia Science Tales & Trails program, participation in Atlanta Science Festival’s Imagining the Future program, development of a science story, or production of an event for Atlanta Science Festival.

Each Fellow will receive a $600 stipend. Attendance at all sessions is mandatory. Sessions will take place in Decatur from 5:30-8pm on Tuesdays: Aug 13, Sept 10, Oct 8, Nov 12, Dec 10, Jan 14, and Feb 11.

2019-2020 Cohort of Fellows

Congratulations  to our newest Science ATL Communication Fellows!

  • Juan Carlos Cespedes, Morehouse School of Medicine – Molecular Biology
  • Ana Cheng, Emory University – Chemistry
  • Audra Davidson, Georgia Tech – Applied Physiology
  • Rachael Hall, Emory University – Center for Selective C-H Functionalization
  • Sydney Hubbard, Emory University – Environmental Sciences
  • Qingxu (Bill) Jin, Georgia Tech – Civil & Environmental Engineering
  • Beena Meena, Georgia State University – Astronomy
  • Veronica Montgomery, Georgia Tech – Biomedical Engineering
  • Nkosi Muse, Georgia State University – Geosciences and Climate Policy
  • Dené Voisin, Georgia State University  – Neuroscience

Applications for the 2020-2021 Fellowship will be available in June 2020.

Supported by:

Emory University

Founded by: Emory University Georgia Institute of Technology Metro Atlanta Chamber

® 2020 Science ATL